2013 Independent Spirit Award Nominations

By @DJansick
2013 Independent Spirit Award Nominations

Film Independent announced the nominations for the 28th annual Independent Spirit Awards this morning by Zoe Saldana and Anna Kendrick. Last year many of the award winners went on to win Oscars but I suspect that will be a little different this year. The winners will be announced at the 28th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards on February 23th and the broadcast will air at 10 p.m. ET/PT on IFC.

There were two films that tied for the most amount of nominations and those were Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom and David O. Russells’s Silver Linings Playbook with five total nominations. Both of the films will be competing for the top award of Best Feature.

It was a little shocking to see that the Sundance standout Beasts of the Southern Wild did not have quite as many nods but four is a healthy amount of nominations to receive. The film bypassed Best First Feature even though it is technically Benh Zeitlin’s first and step up to the bigger category Best Feature (rules prohibit a film from being in both). Beasts of the Southern Wild was ousted from the Best Screenplay category.

John Hawkes makes his third straight appearance in the nomination list with his role in The Sessions. This time he will move up to the Best Lead Male category against some pretty strong contenders. Hawkes was nominated for Best Supporting Male last year for Martha Marcy May Marlene and won the award in the previous year for Winter’s Bone. Matthew McConaughey will get two chances to win for two different films. He got a nod for Best Male Lead (for Killer Joe) and Best Supporting Male (for Magic Mike).

Perhaps the most interesting category this year belongs to the Best International Film section as there was quite a bit of potentials for it this year. Michael Haneke’s Amour made the cut, unsurprisingly, and will likely be the favorite to win (as well as for the Oscar). It was a bit of a surprise to not see Holy Motors in that list but seeing War Witch get a nod was lovely as it is definitely a film worth seeing. I didn’t expect to see Paradise: Love or Goodbye First Love on this list but it would have been if it were up to me.

Watch for our predictions for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards post to come in the coming weeks.

Full List of 2013 Independent Spirit Award Nominations:

Best Feature: (Award given to the Producer)

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep The Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director:

Wes AndersonMoonrise Kingdom
Julia LoktevThe Loneliest Planet
David O. RussellSilver Linings Playbook
Ira SachsKeep The Lights On
Benh ZeitlinBeasts of the Southern Wild

Best First Feature: (Award given to the director and producer)

Fill The Void – Rama Burshtein
Gimme The Loot – Adam Leon
Safety Not Guaranteed – Colin Trevorrow
Sound of My Voice – Zal Batmanglij
The Perks Of Being A Wallflower – Stephen Chobsky

Best Male Lead:

Jack BlackBernie
Bradley CooperSilver Linings Playbook
John HawkesThe Sessions
Thure LindhartKeep The Lights On
Matthew McConaugheyKiller Joe
Wendell PierceFour

Best Female Lead:

Linda CardelliniReturn
Emayatzy CorinealdiMiddle of Nowhere
Jennifer LawrenceSilver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhane Wallis Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary E. WinsteadSmashed

Best Supporting Male:

Matthew McConaugheyMagic Mike
David OyelowoMiddle of Nowhere
Michael PenaEnd of Watch
Sam RockwellSeven Psychopaths
Bruce WillisMoonrise Kingdom

Best Supporting Female:

Rosemarie DeWittYour Sister’s Sister
Ann DowdCompliance
Helen HuntThe Sessions
Brit MarlingSound of My Voice
Lorraine ToussaintMiddle of Nowhere

John Cassavetes Award: (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer)

Breakfast With Curtis – Laura Colella
Middle of Nowhere – Ava DuVernay
Mosquita y Mari – Aurora Guerrero
Starlet – Sean Baker
The Color Wheel – Alex Ross Perry

Best Documentary: (Award given to the director)

How To Survive A Plague – David France
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present – Matthew Akers
The Central Park Five – Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon
The Invisible War – Kirby Dick
The Waiting Room – Peter Nicks

Best International Film: (Award given to the director)

Amour – Michael Haneke
Once Upon A Time In Anatolia – Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Rust and Bone – Jacques Audiard
Sister – Ursula Meier
War Witch – Kim Nguyen

Best Cinematography:

Yoni BrookValley Of Saints
Lol CrawleyHere
Ben RichardsonBeasts of the Southern Wild
Roman VasyanovEnd of Watch
Robert YeomanMoonrise Kingdom

Best Screenplay:

Wes Anderson and Roman CoppolaMoonrise Kingdom
Zoe KazanRuby Sparks
Martin McDonaghSeven Psychopaths
David O. RussellSilver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs and Mauricio ZachariasKeep The Lights On

Best First Screenplay:

Rama BurshteinFill The Void
Derek ConnollySafety Not Guaranteed
Christopher FordRobot & Frank
Jonathan LiseckiGayby
Rashida Jones and Will McCormackCeleste and Jesse Forever

Robert Altman Award: (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

Director: Sean Baker
Casting Director: Julia Kim
Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ranson

Piaget Producers Award: (Award given to a producer)

Alicia Van CouveringNobody Walks
Mynette LouieStones in the Sun
Derrick TsengPrince Avalanche

Truer Than Fiction Award: (Award given to the director)

Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena ParavelLeviathan
Peter NicksThe Waiting Room
Jason Tippet and Elizabeth MimsOnly the Young

Someone to Watch Award: (Award given to the director)

David FensterPincus
Adam LeonGimme The Loot
Rebecca ThomasElectrick Children

Best Of The Web