2011 Independent Spirit Award Winners

By @DJansick
2011 Independent Spirit Award Winners

Film Independent Spirit Awards is arguably the most important film awards of the year, however, it is easy to be over-shadowed during the award season by the Oscars. This is especially true if it is held just one night before.

Black Swan took home the most awards this year with 4 including most of the big ones including; Best Picture, Best Director, Best Female Lead and Best Cinematography. I am glad that Black Swan was the leader of awards because I think it was the best film of the year. Winter’s Bone had the most nominations going in with seven but only walked away with 2 wins for Best Supporting Male and Best Supporting Female.

There were not a lot of huge surprises, with maybe the exception of John Hawkes winning over Mark Ruffalo, and I felt like everyone who won deserved to win. The Independent Spirit Awards ended up being a great watch thanks to the host Joel McHale and all of the presenters.

See the full list of nominations

Best Feature:

Black Swan

Best Director:

Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

Best First Feature:

Get Low, directed by Aaron Schneider; Producers: David Gundlach, Dean Zanuck

John Cassavetes Award: (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)

Daddy Longlegs

Best Screenplay:

Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko, The Kids Are All Right

Best First Screenplay:

Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Best Female Lead:

Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Male Lead:

James Franco, 127 Hours

Best Supporting Female:

Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone

Best Supporting Male:

John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone

Best Cinematography:

Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

Best Documentary:

Exit Through The Gift Shop

Best Foreign Film:

The King’s Speech, Tom Hooper

Robert Altman Award: (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

Please Give
Director: Nicole Holofcener
Casting Director: Jeanne McCarthy
Ensemble Cast: Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith, Sara Steele

Piaget Producers Award:

Anish Savjani, Meek’s Cutoff

Someone to Watch Award:

Mike Ott, Littlerock

Truer Than Fiction Award:

Jeff Malmberg, Marwencol

Find Your Audience Award:


Best Of The Web