2013 Cannes Film Festival Winners

By @DJansick
2013 Cannes Film Festival Winners

Being that Steven Spielberg was the president of the Jury for the 66th Cannes Film Festival everyone who I talked to seemed to think that the Palme d’Or would be given to an American film, with Inside Llewyn Davis having the best chances to win. There was certainly a solid American presence at this year’s festival, but I anticipated Spielberg to pick elsewhere (at the very least to prove he is not biased just towards American films). The Palme d’Or ended up going to a French film called Blue is the Warmest Color, which earned fantastic marks from most critics. Sadly, it was a film that I missed while I was there but obviously plan to watch at my earliest opportunity.

See the full list of nominations.

The entire list of 2013 Cannes Film Festival Award Winners:

Palme d’Or

Blue Is the Warmest Color, (director Abdellatif Kechiche)

Grand Prix

Inside Llewyn Davis, (directors Ethan Coen & Joel Coen)

Prix de la Mise en Scene (Best Director)

Amat Escalante, Heli

Prix du Scenario (Best Screenplay)

Jia Zhangke, A Touch Of Sin

Camera d’Or (Best First Feature)

Ilo Ilo, (director Anthony Chen)

Prix du Jury (Jury Prize)

Like Father, Like Son, (director Hirokazu Koreeda)

Prix d’interpretation feminine (Best Actress)

Berenice Bejo, The Past

Prix d’interpretation masculine (Best Actor)

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Prize of Un Certain Regard

The Missing Picture, (director Rithy Panh)

Jury Prize – Un Certain Regard

Omar, (director Hany Abu-Assad)

Directing Prize – Un Certain Regard

Alain Guiraudie, Stranger By The Lake

A Certain Talent Prize – Un Certain Regard

The Ensemble cast of La Jaula De Oro

Avenir Prize – Un Certain Regard

Fruitvale Station, (director Ryan Coogler)

Fipresci Prize – Competition Prize

Blue Is The Warmest Color, (director Abdellatif Kechiche)

Fipresci Prize – Un Certain Regard Prize

Manuscripts Don’t Burn, (director Mohammad Rasoulof)

Fipresci Prize – Parallel Section (Directors’ Fortnight)

Blue Ruin, (director Hirokazu Koreeda)

Ecumenical Jury Prize

The Past, (director Asghar Farhadi)

Ecumenical Jury Prize – Special Mention

Like Father, Like Son, (director Mohammad Rasoulof)
Miele, (director Valeria Golino)

Best Of The Web