2015 Independent Spirit Award Winners (Live Updated)

By @DJansick
2015 Independent Spirit Award Winners (Live Updated)

Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell show off their wit and charm as they host the 30th Independent Spirit Awards. We were reminded throughout the night why the Spirit Awards mean more to us than the Oscars, mostly because Nightcrawler received some deserved attention, winning Best Screenplay and Best First Feature. The biggest news of the night was Birdman winning the top prize of Best Feature, besting out category favorite Boyhood. Will this shake things up tomorrow night at the Oscars?!

Look for our full reactions to the winners and losers soon.

List of 2015 Independent Spirit Award Winners

(Winners highlighted in bold font)

Best Feature

Love is Strange

Best Director

Damien Chazelle – Whiplash
Ava DuVernay – Selma
Alejandro G. Iñárritu – Birdman
Richard Linklater – Boyhood
David Zellner – Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter

Best Screenplay

Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski – Big Eyes
J.C. Chandor – A Most Violent Year
Dan Gilroy – Nightcrawler
Jim Jarmusch – Only Lovers Left Alive
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias – Love is Strange

Best First Feature

A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Dear White People
Obvious Child
She’s Lost Control

Best First Screenplay

Desiree Akhavan – Appropriate Behavior
Sara Colangelo – Little Accidents
Justin Lader – The One I Love
Anja Marquardt – She’s Lost Control
Justin Simien – Dear White People

Best Male Lead

André Benjamin – Jimi: All Is By My Side
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler
Michael Keaton – Birdman
John Lithgow- Love is Strange
David Oyelowo – Selma

Best Female Lead

Marion Cotillard – The Immigrant
Rinko Kikuchi – Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter
Julianne Moore – Still Alice
Jenny Slate – Obvious Child
Tilda Swinton – Only Lovers Left Alive

Best Supporting Male

Riz Ahmed – Nightcrawler
Ethan Hawke – Boyhood
Alfred Molina – Love is Strange
Edward Norton – Birdman
J.K. Simmons – Whiplash

Best Supporting Female

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood
Jessica Chastain – A Most Violent Year
Carmen Ejogo – Selma
Andrea Suarez Paz – Stand Clear of the Closing Doors
Emma Stone – Birdman

Best Cinematography

Darius Khondji – The Immigrant
Emmanuel Lubezki – Birdman
Sean Porter – It Felt Like Love
Lyle Vincent – A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Bradford Young – Selma

Best Editing

Sandra Adair – Boyhood
Tom Cross – Whiplash
John Gilroy – Nightcrawler
Ron Patane – A Most Violent Year
Adam Wingard – The Guest

Best International Film

Force Majeure
Norte, the End of History
Under the Skin

Best Documentary

20,000 Days on Earth
Stray Dog
The Salt of the Earth

John Cassavetes Award
(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)

Blue Ruin – Jeremy Saulnier
It Felt Like Love – Eliza Hittman
Land Ho! – Aaron Katz & Martha Stephens
Man From Reno – Dave Boyle
Test – Chris Mason Johnson

Best Of The Web